The next generation of CO₂-reduced steel & metal solutions

    

Our society and economy must change fundamentally if we still want to avert the irreversible consequences of climate change. This also includes the steel industry, which is currently responsible for 7% of global CO2 emissions. As one of the world’s largest producer-independent distributors of steel and metal products, we want to help bring these emissions down. At the same time, we want to offer new opportunities and enable our customers and their industries to build sustainable value chains.

   

We’re starting now. That's why we launched Nexigen®.

   

Under Nexigen®, Klöckner & Co offers transparent, CO2-reduced solutions in the area of materials, operations and logistics that help our customers establish sustainable value chains.

With Nexigen®, we support our partners in accelerating their green transformation and making their progress in sustainability visible.

   

Nexigen® – Our new brand for CO₂-reduced steel & metals solutions

We are continuously building more partnerships with suppliers in different countries. This enables us to offer our customers significant quantities of green as well as CO2-reduced steel and metal solutions.

As of today, we are among the first to offer a variety of flat and long products from different CO2-reduced categories to our customers in Europe and the Americas. 

    

Your benefits

   

✓ With Nexigen®, you can easily find and order CO2-reduced products
✓ Nexigen® offers you the opportunity to reduce your CO2 footprint and achieve your sustainability goals
✓ With Nexigen®, we help you expand your own CO2-reduced product portfolio
✓ Nexigen® enables you to offer your customers full transparency

    

“With the launch of Nexigen® we are underlining our ambition as a pioneer of a sustainable steel industry and taking the next step. Nexigen® enables our customers to source CO2-reduced products and services easily and reliably.”

Guido Kerkhoff

CEO Klöckner & Co SE

   

Nexigen® categorizations for CO₂-reduced products

   

   

   

   
 

Customer-driven categorizations

   

UNIFIED TERMINOLOGY

INCENTIVE FOR CO₂-REDUCED PRODUCTS

Until now, the lack of a consistent definition of the term "green" was a problem. With our strict limits, we ensure that the term "green" is only used in a subject-specific manner. The categories make it easier for customers to distinguish between CO2-reduced products. In return, customers are able to improve their own carbon footprint.

We categorize products based on their CO2 content and production method. We are confident that our categories will accelerate the shift towards more sustainable production methods in our industry by increasing the demand for CO2-reduced products. Customers in turn benefit from increased supply.

   

COMPARABILITY

TRANSPARENCY

The categories and defined limits give customers a quick, transparent picture of the carbon emissions generated in the manufacture of the product they would like to buy. This makes it easier for customers to compare the carbon footprint of different products.

We consider all emissions that have occurred in Scope 1 to Scope 3 – Upstream. Customers will receive detailed information about the product's footprint across the entire value chain.

   

AVOIDANCE OF GREENWASHING

Our categories include the product’s true physical footprint from raw material to production. In addition, our calculation methods and strict limits for each category are based on scientific evidence and thus prevent product greenwashing. Thanks to that, the emission data we provide is meaningful.

UNIFIED TERMINOLOGY

Until now, the lack of a consistent definition of the term "green" was a problem. With our strict limits, we ensure that the term "green" is only used for products with the lowest possible emissions (PRIME category). The other categories make it easier for customers to distinguish between CO2-reduced products. In return, customers are able to improve their own carbon footprint.

   

INCENTIVE FOR CO₂-REDUCED PRODUCTS

We categorize products based on their CO2 content and production method. We are confident that our categories will accelerate the shift towards more sustainable production methods in our industry by increasing the demand for CO2-reduced products. Customers in turn benefit from increased supply.

   

COMPARABILITY

The categories and defined limits give customers a quick, transparent picture of the carbon emissions generated in the manufacture of the product they would like to buy. This makes it easier for customers to compare the carbon footprint of different products.

   

TRANSPARENCY

We consider all emissions that have occurred in Scope 1 to Scope 3 – Upstream. For the very first time, customers will receive detailed information about the product's footprint across the entire value chain.

   

AVOIDANCE OF GREENWASHING

Our categories include the product’s true physical footprint from raw material to production. In addition, our calculation methods and strict limits for each category are based on scientific evidence and thus prevent product greenwashing. Thanks to that, the emission data we provide is meaningful.

   

Knowing what's inside – the Product Carbon Footprint (PCF)

   

Please accept marketing cookies to watch this video.

   

Our proprietary and independently certified Nexigen® PCF Algorithm calculates the individualized product carbon footprint from raw material extraction to the cradle-to-customer entry gate for each of our approximately 200,000 products, not just for individual parts. This means that the greenhouse gas emissions of every product purchased can be precisely tracked down to the kilogram - a major advantage for our customers in the competition to establish sustainable value chains.

   

More background information on the scopes

Scope 1 includes all emissions that are directly caused by the company. Examples for a steel producer are:

- Emissions at own steel manufacturing plants
- Emissions from own company vehicles

In Scope 2, emissions that result from the consumption of purchased energy are recorded. This includes:

- Emissions from purchased electricity
- Emissions from district heating and cooling for own use

In Scope 3 – Upstream, emissions that occur even before the company's own entrepreneurial activity are recorded. Examples for a steel producer are:

- Purchased goods like raw materials (e.g. coke and iron) and other services
- Production of fixed assets
- Transport of purchased goods to the steel producer's facilities

Scope 3 Downstream comprises emissions that occur after the company's own entrepreneurial activities. Examples for a steel producer are:

- Processing of the sold steel products
- Use of the sold steel products
- Transport of the steel products to distributors like Klöckner & Co

Contact us

    

If you would like to buy CO2-reduced products from us or learn more about Nexigen®, please send us a message below. We look forward to hearing from you!

Thank you!

Our experts will get in touch with you.

Error!

The form couldn't be submitted. Please try again.

Back to form

Die nächste Generation CO₂-reduzierter Stahl- und Metalllösungen

    

Unsere Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft müssen sich grundlegend ändern, wenn wir die irreversiblen Folgen des Klimawandels noch abwenden wollen. Das gilt vor allem für die Stahlbranche, die aktuell für rund 7 % der globalen CO2-Emissionen verantwortlich ist. Als einer der weltweit größten produzentenunabhängigen Stahl- und Metalldistributoren möchten wir dazu beitragen, diese Emissionen zu senken. Gleichzeitig möchten wir neue Möglichkeiten schaffen und unsere Kunden sowie ihre Branchen beim Aufbau nachhaltiger Lieferketten unterstützen.

   

Damit starten wir jetzt. Deshalb haben wir Nexigen® ins Leben gerufen.

   

Unter der Marke Nexigen® bietet Klöckner & Co transparente, CO2-reduzierte Material-, Service- und Logistiklösungen an, die unseren Kunden beim Aufbau nachhaltiger Lieferketten helfen.

Mit Nexigen® unterstützen wir unsere Partner dabei, ihren grünen Wandel zu beschleunigen und ihre Fortschritte in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit sichtbar zu machen.

   

Nexigen® – unsere neue Marke für CO₂-reduzierte Stahl- & Metalllösungen

Wir bauen unser Partnernetzwerk mit Lieferanten in verschiedenen Ländern beständig weiter aus. Denn dies ermöglicht uns, substanzielle Mengen an CO2 -reduzierten Stahl- und Metalllösungen anzubieten.

Bereits heute bieten wir unseren Kunden in Europa und Amerika ein Sortiment an Flach- und Langprodukten aus unterschiedlichen CO2-reduzierten Kategorien an und gehören damit zu den Ersten auf dem Markt. 

    

Ihre Vorteile

   

✓ Mit Nexigen® können Sie leicht CO2-reduzierte Produkte finden und bestellen
✓ Nexigen® bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, Ihren CO2-Fußabdruck zu reduzieren und so Ihre Nachhaltigkeitsziele zu erreichen
✓ Mit Nexigen® helfen wir Ihnen, Ihr eigenes Portfolio an CO2-reduzierten Produkten zu erweitern
✓ Dank Nexigen® können Sie Ihren Kunden volle Transparenz bieten

    

„Mit dem Start von Nexigen® unterstreichen wir unsere Ambition als Pionier einer nachhaltigen Stahlindustrie und gehen den nächsten Schritt. Nexigen® ermöglicht es unseren Kunden, einfach und verlässlich CO2-reduzierte Stahl- und Metallprodukte zu beziehen.“

Guido Kerkhoff

CEO Klöckner & Co SE

   

Die Nexigen® Kategorisierungen für CO₂-reduzierte Produkte

   

   

   

   
 

Kundenorientierte Kategorisierungen

   

EINHEITLICHE TERMINOLOGIE

ANREIZ FÜR DIE PRODUKTION VON CO₂-REDUZIERTEN PRODUKTEN

Bislang stellte das Fehlen einer einheitlichen Definition des Begriffs „grün“ ein Problem dar. Durch unsere strengen Grenzwerte stellen wir sicher, dass der Begriff „grün“ fachspezifisch verwendet wird (Kategorie PRIME). Die Kategorien vereinfachen den Vergleich zwischen unterschiedlichen CO2-reduzierten Produkten. Das hilft unseren Kunden wiederum dabei, ihre eigene CO2-Bilanz zu verbessern.

Entscheidend für die Kategorisierung eines Produkts sind sein CO2-Gehalt und das eingesetzte Produktionsverfahren. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass unsere Kategorien den Übergang zu nachhaltigeren Produktionsverfahren in unserer Branche beschleunigen werden, indem sie die Nachfrage nach CO2-reduzierten Produkten ankurbeln. Die Kunden profitieren in der Folge von einem wachsenden Angebot.

   

VERGLEICHBARKEIT

TRANSPARENZ

Die Kategorien und festgelegten Grenzwerte vermitteln zu jedem Produkt schnell ein transparentes Bild davon, wie viel CO2 in der Produktion ausgestoßen wird. Dadurch lässt sich der Fußabdruck verschiedener Erzeugnisse einfacher vergleichen.

Wir berücksichtigen sämtliche Emissionen, die von Scope 1 bis Scope 3 Upstream entstehen. Verbraucher erhalten so ausführliche Informationen zum CO2-Fußabdruck des Produkts entlang der gesamten Lieferkette.

   

KEIN GREENWASHING

Unsere Kategorien berücksichtigen den tatsächlichen physischen Fußabdruck vom Rohstoff bis zur Produktion. Zudem beruhen unsere Berechnungsmethoden und strengen Grenzwerte für die einzelnen Kategorien auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen. So vermeiden wir Produkt-Greenwashing und stellen sicher, dass die von uns zur Verfügung gestellten Emissionsdaten aussagekräftig sind.

EINHEITLICHE TERMINOLOGIE

Bislang stellte das Fehlen einer einheitlichen Definition des Begriffs „grün“ ein Problem dar. Durch unsere strengen Grenzwerte stellen wir sicher, dass der Begriff „grün“ ausschließlich für Produkte mit geringstmöglichen Emissionen verwendet wird (Kategorie PRIME). Die übrigen Kategorien vereinfachen den Vergleich zwischen unterschiedlichen CO2-reduzierten Produkten. Das hilft unseren Kunden wiederum dabei, ihre eigene CO2-Bilanz zu verbessern.

   

ANREIZ FÜR DIE PRODUKTION VON CO₂-REDUZIERTEN PRODUKTEN

Entscheidend für die Kategorisierung eines Produkts sind sein CO2-Gehalt und das eingesetzte Produktionsverfahren. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass unsere Kategorien den Übergang zu nachhaltigeren Produktionsverfahren in unserer Branche beschleunigen werden, indem sie die Nachfrage nach CO2-reduzierten Produkten ankurbeln. Die Kunden profitieren in der Folge von einem wachsenden Angebot.

   

VERGLEICHBARKEIT

Die Kategorien und festgelegten Grenzwerte vermitteln zu jedem Produkt schnell ein transparentes Bild davon, wie viel CO2 in der Produktion ausgestoßen wird. Dadurch lässt sich der Fußabdruck verschiedener Erzeugnisse einfacher vergleichen.

   

TRANSPARENZ

Wir berücksichtigen sämtliche Emissionen, die von Scope 1 bis Scope 3 Upstream entstehen. Erstmals erhalten Verbraucher so ausführliche Informationen zum CO2-Fußabdruck des Produkts entlang der gesamten Lieferkette.

   

KEIN GREENWASHING

Unsere Kategorien berücksichtigen den tatsächlichen physikalischen Fußabdruck vom Rohstoff bis zur Produktion. Zudem beruhen unsere Berechnungsmethoden und strengen Grenzwerte für die einzelnen Kategorien auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen. So vermeiden wir Produkt-Greenwashing und stellen sicher, dass die von uns zur Verfügung gestellten Emissionsdaten aussagekräftig sind.

   

Wissen, was drin steckt - Product Carbon Footprint (PCF)

   

Bitte lassen Sie Marketing-Cookies zu, wenn Sie dieses Youtube-Video sehen möchten.

   

Unser eigens entwickelter und unabhängig zertifizierter Nexigen® PCF Algorithm berechnet nicht nur für einzelne Teile, sondern für fast jedes unserer rund 200.000 Produkte den individualisierten Product Carbon Footprint, der von der Rohstoffgewinnung bis zum Kundenwerkstor (Cradle to Customer Entry Gate) entsteht. Damit können für fast jedes gekaufte Produkt bis aufs Kilogramm genau die Treibhausgasemissionen nachvollziehen – ein großer Vorteil für unsere Kunden im Wettbewerb um den Aufbau nachhaltiger Wertschöpfungsketten.

   

Mehr Hintergrundinformationen zu den Scopes

Scope 1 umfasst alle Emissionen, die unmittelbar vom Unternehmen verursacht werden. In der Stahlproduktion sind das z. B.

- Emissionen der unternehmenseigenen Produktionsanlagen
- Emissionen der unternehmenseigenen Fahrzeuge

Scope 2 umfasst Emissionen aus dem Verbrauch eingekaufter Energie. Beispiele hierfür sind

- Emissionen aus eingekauftem Strom
- Emissionen aus vom Unternehmen genutzter Fernwärme und Kühlung

Unter Scope 3 Upstream werden Emissionen erfasst, die vor der eigenen unternehmerischen Tätigkeit eines Unternehmens entstehen. In der Stahlproduktion sind das z. B.

- eingekaufte Waren wie etwa Rohstoffe (z. B. Koks oder Eisen) und Dienstleistungen
- die Produktion von Anlagegütern
- der Transport eingekaufter Waren zum Stahlproduzenten

Unter Scope 3 Downstream fallen Emissionen, die nach der eigenen unternehmerischen Tätigkeit eines Unternehmens entstehen. In der Stahlproduktion sind das z. B.

- die Verarbeitung der verkauften Stahlerzeugnisse
- die Nutzung der verkauften Stahlerzeugnisse
- der Transport der Stahlerzeugnisse zu Distributoren wie Klöckner & Co

Kontakt

    

Sie möchten CO2-reduzierte Produkte bei uns kaufen oder mehr über Nexigen® erfahren? Dann senden Sie uns eine Nachricht. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage!

Vielen Dank!

Unsere Fachleute werden Sie zeitnah kontaktieren.

Fehler!

Das Formular konnte nicht abgesendet werden. Bitte erneut versuchen.

Zurück zum Formular